College hits the ground running


College hits the ground running

Dux: Molly Clark received College Dux at Mary MacKillop’s 2018 Year 12’s Achievers Assembly Awards held last week.

WITH new students and staff, an awards ceremony, Year 12 retreat and several other events underway, the beginning of the school year for Mary MacKillop has been anything but dull.

“It was great to welcome back to school all those happy smiling faces. Once the students return, the college truly comes to life,” principal David Leslie said.

“A special welcome to our 118 new Year 7 students and to all the students who have joined us at other year levels as well. We hope your time at Mary MacKillop is happy and successful.”

The college held its 2018 Year 12s Achievers Assembly Awards last week.

Twenty awards were presented to high achievers, with Molly Clark receiving College Dux in addition to an Academic Award for Business Management, Physical Education and Psychology.

“Congratulations to our graduating class of 2018. They did very well with university offers, apprenticeships and in gaining employment. Many of them will be heading off to commence studies in the next few weeks and many have already started work in their chosen fields. We wish them all well on the next stage of their adventure,” Mr Leslie said.

While former Year 12 students celebrated their successes, current Year 12s embarked on a school retreat to Grantville on January 30.

The theme of the retreat was ‘there where you are, you will fine God’. Activities during the retreat provided the students with the opportunity to reflect on God and how He is with them wherever they go, including their upcoming and final year of schooling.

Highlights of the trip included gathering around the campfire of a night and spending quality time together, as well as the students performing their own songs on the last night of the camp.

“School has started quickly,” Mr Leslie said.

“We are wishing all our students and families every success as we begin the new year.”

Mary MacKillip would also like to congratulate the following award recipients of the2018 Year 12 Achievers Assembly Awards: Rhonda Malone Memorial Bursary Award – Chloe Ollington; Cardell’s Award – Emma Carlisle; Leongatha Medical Group Award – Ellie Holmes; Academic Award for Art – Harriett Steenholdt; Academic Award for Biology – Aaron Farrell; Academic Award for Chemistry – Belinda Denbrok; Academic Award for Economics – Tara Pryor; Academic Award for English and Geography – Emma Carlisle; Academic Award for VET: Applied Fashion Design – Bianca Phillips; Academic Award for Health and Human Development – Tomei Dal Pozzo; Academic Award for History Revolutions, Literature, Music Performance and Theatre Studies – Michaeleach Stephens; Academic Award for VET: ICT CERT III – Luke Sands; Academic Award for Legal Studies – Jennifer Bals; Academic Award for Maths, Methods and Specialists Maths – Kate Brennan; Academic Award for Further Maths – Ellie Holmes; Academic Award for Product Design and Technology and VET: Building and Construction – Jarvis Pryor; Academic Award for Physics – Catherine Williams; and Academic Award for Religion and Society – Simone Dekker. 

Short URL: /?p=27479

Posted by on Feb 12 2019. Filed under Community. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Share your love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *