Sun shines for daffodils


Sun shines for daffodils

SPRING came early with beautiful weather complementing a range of activities over the course of the Leongatha Daffodil Festival.
Hundreds of people enjoyed a range of activities around the town from Thursday through to Saturday.
The South Gippsland Shire Brass Band provided music in the sunshine next to Memorial Hall as rock and roll dancers showed off their skills.
The Safeway car park was full with car enthusiasts as the South Gippsland Branch of the Gippsland Historical Automobile Club showed off their pride and joys.
The children were entertained in Apex Park with lots of fun activities and the lovers of theatre enjoyed Leongatha Lyric Theatres’ performance of Trial by Jury.
Leongatha traders also got involved with sales and specials offers throughout the stores over several days.
The 57th Annual Daffodil and Floral Show by the Leongatha Horticultural Society may have been pushed back to Friday but despite this was a fantastic show.
The centre piece to the festival filled Leongatha’s Memorial Hall with a sea of colour and a blast of sweet aromas on Friday and Saturday.
On Friday Federal Member for McMillan Russell Broadbent graced the stage and officially opened the show commenting on the hard work put in by the organisers and exhibitors.
“All of these flowers look brilliant to me,” he said.
“The floral art is something that is just astounding.”
The champion daffodil price went to Ian Dyson with his perfect single flower while Glenice Griggs was the most successful exhibitor with prizes in several sections.

Class A – Daffodils
Champion Daffodil – Ian Dyson.
RHSV Madam Melba Trophy (Open) – Ian Dyson.
VDS Eve Murray Trophy (Open) – Ian Dyson.
RHSV Nethercote Perpetual Challenge Cup (Open) – Ian Dyson.
RHSV Leonard Buckland Memorial Trophy (Open) – Ian Dyson.
Best bloom Open Section – Ian Dyson.
Aggregage Open Section – Rodney Emmerson.
Best Bloom Amateur Section – Glenice Griggs.
Aggregate Amateur Section – Glenice Griggs.
LHS Perpetual Shield – Best Bloom L.H.S. Members Section – Maureen Masterman.
Aggregate – L.H.S. Members Section – Colin Drewitt Jnr Memorial Trophy – Maureen Masterman.
Best bloom – Novice Section – Sheryl Bruce.
Aggregate – Novice Section – Sheryl Bruce.
Best Bloom Non-Open Sections – Maureen Masterman.
RHSV S.S. McKay Silver Medal – Glenice Griggs.
Class B – Other Bulbs
Best Exhibit – Sue Thompson. Aggregate – Alf Ladson Trophy – Glenice Griggs.
Class C – Cut Flowers
Trophy – Best Exhibit – Heather Sullivan. Aggregate – Glenice Griggs.
Class D – Camellias
Best Exhibit – Open Section – Judy Pocklington.
Best Bloom – Named Varieties – Judy Pocklington.
Best Bloom – Novice Sections – Dot Garry. Aggregate – Judy Pocklington.
Best Camellia – A.W. Jessep Medal – Judy Pocklington.
Class E – Cut Shrubs
& Trees
RHSV Trophy – Best Exhibit – Glenice Griggs. Aggregate – Glenice Griggs.
Class EA – Australian Plants
Best Exhibit – Jean Humphrey. Aggregate – Jean Humphrey.
Kuranga Encouragement Award – Jenny McIlwaine.
Class F – Floral Art
Championship Ribbon & Trophy – Aileen Wightman. Aggregate – Marilyn Mackie.
Floral Art Group Encouragement Award – Marilyn Mackie.
Class G – Pot Plants
Denis Hawkins Trophy – Best Exhibit – Sue Thompson. Aggregate – Wendy Muir.
Class H – School Students
Best Exhibit – Kaitlyn Gale. Aggregate – Jessica Humphrey.
Class I – Fruit & Vegetables
Best Exhibit – Glenice Griggs. Aggregate – Glenice Griggs.
Class J – Photography
Best Exhibit – Estelle Adams. Aggregate Estelle Adams.
Most Successful Exhibitor in Show – Glenice Griggs.
Shop windows
Large window – Flower Power. Small window – Leongatha Newsagency. Interior display – History Society. Schools – Leongatha Children’s Centre (Kelvin Johns Bedding). Highly commended – Marriotts.

Short URL: /?p=8376

Posted by on Sep 3 2013. Filed under Arts & Entertainment, Featured. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Share your love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *