Town’s Lloyd the destroyer


Town’s Lloyd the destroyer

Leongatha Town: A2 cricket premiers, back from left, Noah Fixter, Scott Browne, Lahiru Jayakody, James Lloyd, Darcy Hume, Sahan Perera, Pandu Jayasinghe, front, Sam Clarke, Amila Ratnaike, Madura Madusanka, Matt Davies (captain), Damien Burge.

JAMES Lloyd has bowled his side Leongatha Town into the top division after taking a magnificent 8/19 in the grand final of A2 cricket on the weekend.
Lloyd carved through the top six of the Imperials batting line-up including taking the wicket of last week’s century-maker Tim Sauvarin for one, Damon Ginnane for a duck and Jack Ginnane for three as well as several others.
His efforts earned him the man of the match award.
It was a day of frustrations for cricketers with wet conditions throughout the weekend. The main pitch at the Leongatha Recreation Reserve was covered but some small holes in the older pitches saw water get through and some dangerous areas were exposed.
According to the umpires there was also a very wet patch about 10 metres from the pitch which could have been the result of a burst pipe under the surface.
“Unfortunately we didn’t get play started on the Saturday until 5pm and we had only 28 overs scheduled. Unfortunately bad light was also a factor and we had to stop after 22 overs,” umpire Gary Adams said.
“The three Leongatha clubs may have to investigate purchasing a new set of covers.”
Imperials won the toss and batted but could not get settled, being all out for just 40 runs off 19.2 overs.
Century maker last week Tim Sauvarin was first to go for one. Top scorer Rohan McLennan made 14 before he fell to Lloyd, no other bat could reach double figures.
As well as the damage by Lloyd, Amila Ratnaike claimed 2/14 from six overs, leaving Imperials in a hopeless position. Town had a few overs batting and was 0/9 overnight.
Frustrations continued on Sunday with the dampness again an issue. On Sunday play didn’t get underway until 4pm with Town only needing 32 with all 10 wickets in hand.
Town batted steadily with Matt Davies making 21 and Sahan Perera 12. Davies finished not out while Ratnaike made six, Town ending with 1/42 from just 14 overs. Steven Hammill was the sole wicket-taker, claiming 1/20.

Short URL: /?p=28141

Posted by on Apr 2 2019. Filed under Sport. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Share your love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *